Album Review: In Our Bones - Against the Current

Saturday, 4 June 2016

Album: In Our Bones
Band: Against the Current
1. Running with the Wild Things
2. Forget Me Now
3. Chasing Ghosts
4. One More Weekend
5. In Our Bones
6. Young and Relentless
7. Runaway
8. Brighter
9. Wasteland
10. Blood Like Gasoline
11. Roses
12. Demons
In Our Bones is the debut album from the band Against the Current who are signed by Fueled by Ramen. The band are known mainly from their large YouTube following for copious covers of pop and rock songs and from the previous short play albums they have released.
I myself first heard them on YouTube and instantly became a fan, their music is a blend of pop/rock full of catchy beats and clever lyrics that get stuck in your head.

I had extremely high hopes for this album and I have to say it did not disappoint.
It's full of catchy riffs and lyrics that encompass what it is to be young and reckless. With a number of slow songs that show the versatility of the band and Costanza's vocals.

 The lyrics encompass the hopefulness of youth and show that for this band this is just the beginning: 'I don't need a reason to set the world on fire and burn a little bit brighter' 
My personal favourite songs from the album are:

• Chasing Ghosts
• Blood Like Gasoline
• Wasteland
• One More Weekend

A strong debut from the three-piece band and I'm very excited that I got my hands on a signed copy! The only questions I have is where is the song Outsiders and is there such a thing as having an album on repeat fot too long?

I would definitely give this album 5/5

Make sure you all go give it a listen.

Thanks for Reading!

No comments:

Post a comment

Powered by Blogger.
Theme Designed By Hello Manhattan

Your copyright

Rebecca Laura Writes